Neutron radiography and tomography (NRT)

 

The neutron radiography and tomography methods are a powerful tool of non-destructive analysis, playing an important part in industrial and scientific research. The fundamental difference in the nature of neutron interaction with matter compared to X-rays provides additional benefits to neutron methods, including sensitivity to light elements, notable difference in contrast between neighboring elements or isotopes, high penetration into metals or heavy elements. All these features make neutron radiography and tomography highly demanded tools with a growing range of applications in industry, geophysics, paleontology, archeology and other various fields, including cultural heritage investigations. A neutron radiography and tomography facility operates at the IBR-2 high-flux pulsed reactor. The main parameters of this facility are listed below. 

Fig. 1. At the top: The layout of the neutron radiography and tomography facility on the 14th beamline of the IBR-2 high-flux pulsed reactor. The length of the collimator system is 11 m, and the linear dimensions of the neutron beam at the output of the system are 20×20 cm. The goniometer is used for performing the neutron tomographic experiments. A specially constructed detector system based on a high-resolution CCD camera is used for neutron detection. At the bottom: a primary schema of the neutron radiography experiment: a neutron radiographic image of the object is formed using the scintillator screen. Neutron radiography image is recorded by means of the CCD video camera.

 

Several neutron radiography images, as examples, are shown in Figure 2.

Fig. 2. Neutron radiography images of metal casing hard drive, padlock and part of turning lathe.

 

Table 1. Main parameters of the neutron radiography station at the IBR-2 reactor

L/D ratio 

Aperture diameter D

Distance between input aperture and sample L

Beam dimension: Field of view (FOV)

Neutron beam flux

200-2000

10-50 mm

10 m

20x20 cm2

5.5(2)x106 n/cm2/s

CCD camera type 

Active pixels

Pixel size (µm)

CCD chip area (mm)

Digitization

Cooling method

VIDEOSCAN-11002-2001

 

4008x2672

9x9

12 Bits

Peltier element

 Scintillator screen specifics  6LiF/ZnS scintillator
Gadox scintillator
Spatial resolution

134 µm

Imaging data processing ImageJ, H-PITRE, VGStudio MAX 2.2 software

 

References


1. Kozlenko D.P., Kichanov S.E., Lukin E.V., Rutkauskas A.V., Bokuchava G.D., Savenko B.N., Pakhnevich A.V., Rozanov A.Yu., Neutron Radiography Facility at IBR-2 High Flux Pulsed Reactor: First Results, Physics Procedia 69, 87 – 91 (2015).
2. Kozlenko D. P., Kichanov S. E., Lukin E. V., Rutkauskas A. V., Belushkin A. V., Bokuchava G. D., Savenko B. N. Neutron radiography and tomography facility at IBR-2 reactor, Phys. Part. Nuclei Lett., 13: 346 (2016).
3. E.V. Lukin, D.P. Kozlenko, S.E. Kichanov, A.V. Rutkauskas, G.D. Bokuchava, B.N. Savenko “First attempts on energy-selective neutron imaging at IBR-2”, Physics Procedia, 69, 271 – 274 (2015).
4. S.E. Kichanov, D.P. Kozlenko, T.I. Ivankina, A.V. Rutkauskas, E.V. Lukin, B.N. Savenko “The Neutron Tomography Studies of the Rocks from the Kola Superdeep Borehole”, Physics Procedia, 69, 537 – 541 (2015).
5. S. Kichanov, I. Saprykina, D. Kozlenko, K. Nazarov, E. Lukin, A.
Rutkauskas, B. Savenko, “Studies of Ancient Russian Cultural Objects Using the Neutron Tomography Method” J. Imaging, 4(2), 25 (2018) 6. S. E. Kichanov, D. P. Kozlenko, E. V. Lukin, A. V. Rutkauskas, E.
A. Krasavin, A. Y. Rozanov, B. N. Savenko “A neutron tomography study of the Seymchan pallasite”, Meteoritics & Planetary Science, 53, 10,
2155-2164 (2018)
7. S.E. Kichanov, D.P. Kozlenko, A.K. Kirillov, E.V. Lukin, B., Abdurahimov, N.M. Belozerova, A.V. Rutkauskas, T.I. Ivankina, B.N. Savenko “A structural insight into the Chelyabinsk meteorite: neutron diffraction, tomography and Raman spectroscopy study”, SN Applied Sciences, 1:1563 (2019).

Нейтронная радиография и томография (НРТ) на реакторе ИБР-2

Методы нейтронной радиографии и томографии являются мощными исследовательскими инструментами неразрушающего анализа и играют важную роль в промышленных и научных исследованиях. Принципиальное отличие характера взаимодействия нейтронов с веществом по сравнению с рентгеновским излучением дает дополнительные преимущества нейтронным методам, в том числе чувствительность к легким элементам, заметное отличие в контрасте между соседними элементами или изотопами, большая глубина проникновения в металлы и материалы с тяжелыми элементами. Все эти особенности делают нейтронную радиографию и томографию чрезвычайно востребованными методами с растущим диапазоном применений в промышленности, геофизике, палеонтологии, археологии и других областях, включая исследования, связанные с культурным наследием. Установка нейтронной радиографии и томографии работает на импульсном высокопоточном реакторе ИБР-2. Ниже перечислены основные параметры данной установки.

 

 

Рис.1. Вверху: Схема установки нейтронной радиографии и томографии на 14-ом канале высокопоточного импульсного реактора ИБР-2. Длина коллиматорной системы  – 11 м, а линейные размеры нейтронного пучка на выходе системы - 20×20 см. Система гониометров служит для проведения томографических экспериментов. Регистрация нейтронов осуществляется специально разработанной детекторной системой на основе CCD камеры высокого разрешения. Внизу: Принципиальная схема эксперимента по нейтронной радиографии. После прохождения нейтронов через исследуемый образец с помощью сцинтиллятора формируется нейтронное радиографическое изображение объекта, которое регистрируется CCD видеокамерой.

 

В качестве примеров на Рис. 2 дано несколько изображений нейтронной радиографии.

 

Рис. 2. Изображения нейтронной радиографии: компьютерный жесткий диск с металлическим корпусом, замок и узел токарного станка.

 

Таблица 1. Основные параметры станции нейтронной радиографии на реакторе ИБР-2

L/D отношение 

Диаметр апертуры D

Расстояние апертура – образец L

Размер пучка: поле зрения

Поток нейтронов 

200-2000

10-50 мм

10 м

20x20 см2

5.5(2)x106 н/см2

Тип ПЗС-камеры

Активные пиксели

Размер пикселя (мкм)

Площадь ПЗС чипа (мм)

Разрядность

Метод охлаждения

VIDEOSCAN-11002-2001

 

4008x2672

9x9

12 Bits

Элемент Пелтье

 Характеристики сцинтилляционного экрана  6LiF/ZnS сцинтиллятор
Gadox сцинтиллятор
Пространственное разрешение

134 мкм

 

Обработка изображения ImageJ, H-PITRE, VGStudio MAX 2.2 software

 

Литература


1. Kozlenko D.P., Kichanov S.E., Lukin E.V., Rutkauskas A.V., Bokuchava G.D., Savenko B.N., Pakhnevich A.V., Rozanov A.Yu., Neutron Radiography Facility at IBR-2 High Flux Pulsed Reactor: First Results, Physics Procedia 69, 87 – 91 (2015).
2. Kozlenko D. P., Kichanov S. E., Lukin E. V., Rutkauskas A. V., Belushkin A. V., Bokuchava G. D., Savenko B. N. Neutron radiography and tomography facility at IBR-2 reactor, Phys. Part. Nuclei Lett., 13: 346 (2016).
3. E.V. Lukin, D.P. Kozlenko, S.E. Kichanov, A.V. Rutkauskas, G.D. Bokuchava, B.N. Savenko “First attempts on energy-selective neutron imaging at IBR-2”, Physics Procedia, 69, 271 – 274 (2015).
4. S.E. Kichanov, D.P. Kozlenko, T.I. Ivankina, A.V. Rutkauskas, E.V. Lukin, B.N. Savenko “The Neutron Tomography Studies of the Rocks from the Kola Superdeep Borehole”, Physics Procedia, 69, 537 – 541 (2015).
5. S. Kichanov, I. Saprykina, D. Kozlenko, K. Nazarov, E. Lukin, A.
Rutkauskas, B. Savenko, “Studies of Ancient Russian Cultural Objects Using the Neutron Tomography Method” J. Imaging, 4(2), 25 (2018) 6. S. E. Kichanov, D. P. Kozlenko, E. V. Lukin, A. V. Rutkauskas, E.
A. Krasavin, A. Y. Rozanov, B. N. Savenko “A neutron tomography study of the Seymchan pallasite”, Meteoritics & Planetary Science, 53, 10,
2155-2164 (2018)
7. S.E. Kichanov, D.P. Kozlenko, A.K. Kirillov, E.V. Lukin, B. Abdurahimov, N.M. Belozerova, A.V. Rutkauskas, T.I. Ivankina, B.N. Savenko “A structural insight into the Chelyabinsk meteorite: neutron diffraction, tomography and Raman spectroscopy study”, SN Applied Sciences, 1:1563 (2019).
.